najF.I.L.M.F.I.L.M.


DVD
........................ najave
........................ VHS najave
........................ recenzije
........................ kultni film
kino
........................ najave
........................ recenzije
........................ festivali
........................ premijere
........................ kino raspored
TV
........................ kolumna
........................ recenzije
kazalište
........................ predstave
........................ festivali
........................ raspored
glazba
........................ CD/DVD
........................ koncerti
literatura
........................ knjige
........................ časopisi
........................ stvaralaštvo
izložbe
........................ osvrti

________________________________
Interview
Moram vam reći
Arheološki kutak

________________________________
forum
........................ oglasnik
newsletter
linkovi
Novosti - Home



Internet tjednik
F.I.L.M.
Izdavac Udruga Artikul

Museo de Arte de Ponce presents Matthias Weischer: New Work (p)
press / e-artnow,Thursday 01 December 2011



Matthias Weischer: New Work
Museo de Arte de Ponce

Contact
mnavas@museoarteponce.org
Marisol Navas
Phone: 787-459-1820

Address
www.museoarteponce.org
The Museo de Arte de Ponce
2325 Las Américas Ave.
Ponce, PR, 00717-0776
Puerto Rico

Info
26 Nov 2011 - 26 Mar 2012
Date of Opening:
Novembre 26, 2011



(Matthias Weischer, Stand, 2011. Oil on canvas, 11.8 x 15.7 in. (30 x 40 cm).
Courtesy of Galerie EIGEN + ART Leipzig / Berlín. Photo: Uwe Walter, Berlin.)


PUERTO RICO, THE MUST-GO STOP BEFORE OR AFTER ART BASEL MIAMI
THE MUSEO DE ARTE DE PONCE PRESENTS MATTHIAS WEISCHER: NEW WORK


November 18, 2011, PONCE, P.R. --Visitors to Art Basel Miami will have to add a stop on their itinerary to complete the feast of contemporary art, because in its tireless efforts to remain one of the trailblazing art institutions of the hemisphere, the Museo de Arte de Ponce announces the opening of the exhibition 'Matthias Weischer: New Work' on Saturday, November 26, at 2:00 pm. This is the first individual exhibition in the Americas of one of the principal representatives of the New Leipzig School, which critics have called the 'first art phenomenon' of the twenty-first century. The exhibit will remain open to the public through March 26, 2012, and will be accompanied by a selection of works from the museum that have a connection with Weischer's works.

That 'phenomenon' that we know as the New Leipzig School is not a formal or structured collective of artists, but rather a loosely connected group of individuals whose works have certain characteristics in common, such as, for example, formal art training and a special admiration for classical art. Their similarities and diversities have culminated in work whose blend of Pop with a strong influence of post-reunification Germany has revolutionized the world of contemporary art. Weischer's will be the second of three exhibits by which the museum recognizes the importance of this new movement-the first was a show by David Schnell in 2007–2008, and the third will open in November of 2013 with the work of Neo Rauch, the New Leipzig School's central figure.

'With this exhibit we continue our work as pioneers of art in the Americas, where the work of Weischer is not very well known and where therefore the New Leipzig School may not have been given the importance it deserves on the basis of its worldwide influence. It is our firm intention to present shows that free our visitors' imagination and allow new and exciting encounters with art. We urge visitors to Art Basel to make a detour to Puerto Rico, which is so very close and so very attractive as a place to visit, and which now offers this wonderful exhibit composed entirely of the latest work by this compelling artist,' noted Agustín Arteaga, director and chief executive officer of the Museo de Arte de Ponce.

'Matthias Weischer: New Work' is composed of 11 oil paintings in medium and large format and 45 prints, this being the first time that such a large number of works by this artist have been exhibited at the same time. In the exhibit, visitors will see gardens, landscapes, and interior spaces decorated with furniture, art objects, and many shapes and forms that constitute Weischer's personal pictorial idiom and through which he attempts to recreate in the viewer the sensations and experiences of the potential occupants of those spaces. Eliminating human figures from his work is the strategy by which Weischer turns the viewer into an occupant, participating in countless situations, confrontations, or sensations, both concrete and imagined.

'I go outside of the studio with my sketchbook. This is a fundamental part of my work. It is during these moments that I experience the greatest joy in my creative phase. I sit down in a place and try to sound out the space. I do not compose at this moment but only search for my viewpoint as an observer and react with the pencil to the place. At this moment a lot happens to my work. Drawing – in front of an object, in the garden, or in the room – creates an open space for me. It is a moment of openness that drives me like a motor,' says the artist, who often visits museums and gardens in search of ideas for his paintings.

A 40-page catalog with full-color reproductions of the works complements the exhibit. The catalog also contains an essay by Cheryl Hartup, the Museo de Arte de Ponce's curator-in-chief, who points out that 'the roots of Matthias Weischer's work lie in the landscape painting, interiors, and still-lifes characteristic of the Western pictorial tradition. His work explores the structure of the space, and also presents an enigmatic collection or grouping of objects that inhabit the space, and his paintings resemble stage sets while also reminding us of nineteenth-century artists' studios. Likewise, his technique evokes the pleasure in sumptuous materials, richly decorated rooms, and the play of light and shadow that we associate with the Baroque. Weischer's curious images open the doors to worlds that contain a past that is familiar, but that we never knew.'

Matthias Weischer has had individual shows at the Hochschule für Grafik und Buchkunst and the Museum der Bildenden Künste, both in Leipzig, and at the Kunsthalle in Mainz, Germany; the Centro de Arte Contemporáneo in Malaga, Spain, and the Gemeentemuseum den Haag, in the Hague. He has been the recipient of a fellowship to study at the Villa Massimo German Academy in Rome, and he is part of the select group of participants in the Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative, where he worked under David Hockney.

As part of the Museo de Arte de Ponce's fundraising efforts for this exhibit, the artist has produced an edition of 30 commemorative lithographs, which may be purchased for $1,800 each; their value on the current market is €2,500. For information on purchasing one of the prints, call Norma Torres at 787-840-1510 or 787-848-0505, or email ntorres@museoarteponce.org.
email to someone printer friendly

Ocjena:
0%


bullet R.E.M.
bullet Zagrebačka filharmonija sezona 2012/2013: Press konferencija (p)
bullet Festival hrvatskog animiranog filma po treći put u Zagrebu (p)
bullet Cineplexx East - Vodeći kino prikazivač u ovom dijelu Europe dolazi u Zagreb (p)
bullet Dani hrvatskog filma 2012: Kritični dani na 21. Danima hrvatskog filma (p)
bullet FILM: ŽENSKA PRAVA HOĆU, drama by Ada Jukić
bullet In memoriam IVICA PERCL 16.3.2007.-16.3.2012. (p)
bullet Jonathan Franzen u Zagrebu (p)
bullet Nakon tri godine Rebel Star ponovno u Teatru &TD (p)
bullet Picksiebner koncert u Hard Placeu (p)
bullet Završena potpuna digitalizacija svih CineStar kina (p)
bullet RAF 2012: Održana press konferencija (p)
bullet Premijera lutkarske predstave 'Pekara Mišmaš' u ZKM-u (p)
bullet Kino Europa prikazuje canneskog slavodobitnika - film 'Turneja' Mathieua Amalrica (p)
bullet Kineski nacionalni cirkus 'Put svile', 25.4.2012. Dvorana Dražen Petrović (p)
bullet Knjiga 'Zločini u malom gradu' Marka Gimeneza za ljubitelje krimića (p)
bullet FILM: HARRISON, dokumentarni by Robert Jukić
bullet FILM: OPASNA METODA, biografska drama by Robert Jukić
bullet Knjiga 'Mrkli mrak, bez zvijezda' Stephena Kinga proglašena je najboljom knjigom mjeseca (p)
bullet FILM: JOHN CARTER, SF by Robert Jukić
bullet Roman 'Vožnja' James Sallisa za ljubitelje akcijskih krimića (p)
bullet FILM: KUPILI SMO ZOO, drama / komedija by Robert Jukić
bullet FILM: OPSTANAK, drama by Ada Jukić
bullet Roman 'Ubojice s razglednice' J. Pattersona i L. Marklund za ljubitelje napetih krimića (p)
bullet Roman 'Revolveraš : Kula tmine - knjiga prva' Stephena Kinga za fanove majstora fantastike (p)
bullet FILM: NOĆNI BRODOVI, drama by Ada Jukić
bullet Premijera predstave 'Lindarski kaban' u pulskom INK-u 9. ožujka 2012. (p)
bullet Edgar Degas – skulpture / 30. godina Galerije Klovićevi dvori (p)
bullet Snima se dokumentarni film o Dub Incorporationu koji dolaze u Zagreb 31. ožujka, 2012. (p)
bullet Premijera komedije 'Krletka' u Kerempuhu 10. ožujka 2012. (p)
bullet Redateljica Pouran Derakhshandeh i njenih sedam filmova u kinu Tuškanac (p)
bullet 'Video/Next' premijera u kino europa 12. ožujka 2012. (p)
bullet Filmovi S. Parajanova u zagrebačkom MM Centru (p)
bullet Film 'Slovenka' redatelja Damjana Kozolea u hrvatskim kinima (p)
bullet 'Krvna osveta' - novi film Joshue Marstona u hrvatskim kinima (p)
bullet Premijera filma 'Djeca su dobro' u Art kinu Grič (p)
bullet DOKUMENTARCI u MULTIPLEKSU: NA POČETKU BIJAŠE SVIJETLO & PROSVIJETLJENI by Ada Jukić
bullet 'Flekama' posebno priznanje 40. FEST- a (p)
bullet IZLOŽBA SOFIE THORSEN I MICHAELA KIENZERA, KUNSTHAUS GRAZ by Sonja Jeđud
bullet ZagrebDox 2012: Nagrada publike filmu 'Nije ti život pjesma Havaja' (p)

Ime:

Lozinka:


Zapamti me



Koji igrani filmski žanr odgovara recesijskoj stvarnosti:

Komedija

Drama

Horor

Krimi film



Glasova: 1642
Stare ankete

All rights reserved. F.I.L.M © 2011. Since 22.01.2003.
Naše tekstove je moguće pratiti preko RSS i TXT servisa.
news.xml - news.txt